Africa’s CDC Braces Up For The Fight Against Covid 19 In 43 Countries

Africa’s CDC Braces Up For The Fight Against Covid 19 In 43 Countries

The Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention announces intensified efforts across Africa to aid the fight against further spread of the dreaded Covid-19.

Reports have it that half of the countries of the world have reported cases of coronavirus, presently, nine African countries have been reported to have recorded cases of the coronavirus.

These countries include South Africa, Egypt, Algeria, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Cameroon, and Togo. The CDC, in response to the spread of the disease, has trained and equipped laboratories across 43 countries.

Outside Africa, the deadly virus has caused so much loss already with over 100,000 reported cases and 3,500 deaths. Luckily Africa still reads no more a dozen cases in the most affected countries. 

According to Africa CDC Director John Nkengasong in a statement, “We want to capacitate member states so they can quickly detect and mitigate the effects of the disease in Africa, and, if widespread transmission occurs, prevent severe illness and death,”

In all 43 laboratories, trained representatives are equipped to test for the virus in the laboratories, move and quarantine appropriately. Africa CDC also gives additional 1,000 test kits to any country that reports cases.

Africa CDC, which was established in 2017, shoulders the responsibility of supporting nations to aid surveillance, rapid responses, and to put preventive measures in place, against infectious diseases.

Different African countries, with the support of the CDC and the World Health Organization, are bracing up for the worst-case scenario. The WHO identified thirteen priority countries that are of higher risk of acquiring the virus due to their more frequent links with travelers, and business with China, where the spread of the virus emanated.

These countries include Côte d’Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Algeria, Angola, Zambia, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, and Mauritius.

In the fight against the virus at national levels, African countries have taken strong preventive measures. Côte d’Ivoire has installed thermal cameras at the airports.

 In an interview, the Ethiopian State Minister for Health, Lia Tadesse said Ethiopia is screening travelers from China, Italy, Japan, Iran, and South Korea, to mitigate the spread of the virus.

The Nigerian government has issued a travel advisory warning citizens to postpone travels to China, except it is crucial.

According to Health Minister Eteni Longondo of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Congo will quarantine travelers arriving from Italy, France, China, and Germany.

Travelers that arrive in Congo from the four countries with no signs of coronavirus will be quarantined at home for 14 days, according to Longondo, while those with symptoms of the virus “will be transferred to an isolation site” which the health ministry of the country, manages.

According to Bloomberg, the official wrote the above statements in letters to the nation’s embassies.

 Fortunately, the virus has so far been slow to spread in Africa. Hopefully, the health system in Africa is more equipped and prepared to curb the spread of the Covid-19 in Africa now than it was in the fight against the Ebola virus.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *