Nigeria Finally Locks Down Abuja, Lagos, And Ogun For 14 Days

Nigeria Finally Locks Down Abuja, Lagos, And Ogun For 14 Days


The president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, General Muhammadu Buhari announced in a nationwide broadcast on the evening of Sunday, March 29, 2020, at 7 pm that there will be a lockdown of Lagos, Ogun, and Abuja for two weeks.

This restriction and lock down will commence from Monday, 30th March, 2020 at 11pm.


This is to enable the government to curb the spread of the virus and identify those who are infected.

The inclusion of Ogun state is due to its proximity to Lagos state as the majority of these cases are in Lagos State.

The President said: “Based on the advice of the Federal Ministry of Health and the NCDC, I am directing the cessation of all movements in Lagos and the FCT for an initial period of 14 days with effect from 11 pm on Monday, 30th March 2020. This restriction will also apply to Ogun State due to its close proximity to Lagos and the high traffic between the two States.

“All citizens in these areas are to stay in their homes. Travel to or from other states should be postponed. All businesses and offices within these locations should be fully closed during this period.

“The Governors of Lagos and Ogun States, as well as the Minister of the FCT, have been notified. Furthermore, heads of security and intelligence agencies have also been briefed”.

Hospitals, all medical related businesses, all medical related organisations whether manufacturing or distribution are all exempted.

He went further to say that commercial businesses which include food processing, transmission houses, petroleum distribution and retail establishments, private security companies, distribution, and retail companies and power generation companies re also exempted.

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control announced on Sunday that it has recorded 14 new cases in Nigeria. 5 in Abuja while the other 9 cases are in Lagos.

NCDC reported that all said new cases reported have shown very little to moderate symptoms of the virus after testing positive and are currently receiving care.

The affected cities and number of casualties in total as of Sunday, March 29th, 2020 are listed below:

  • Lagos- 68
  • FCT- 21
  • Ogun- 3
  • Ekiti- 1
  • Oyo- 7
  • Edo- 2
  • Bauchi- 2
  • Osun-2
  • Rivers-1
  • Enugu- 2
  • Benue-1
  • Kaduna-1







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *